Florida’s real estate market provides an exciting opportunity for anyone who wants to make a lucrative career. However, you must get a Florida real estate license to be a sales associate or property broker.
The good thing is that you can get a realtor’s license in Florida without being a resident. You must meet the age, education, and character requirements. Florida also has a mutual recognition agreement with more than ten states.
Herein, we look at the stages of applying for and getting a real estate license in Florida.
Real Estate Sales Associate License
Before starting your journey toward getting real estate certification in Florida, there are basic requirements you must meet. You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school degree or equivalent. A clean background is also crucial, regardless of which state you come from.
A real estate sales associate license is the first step for those who want to become realtors in Florida. You must complete a 63-hour pre-licensing course from a Florida-approved real estate school.
The coursework will introduce you to real estate laws and principles, home ownership, contracts, ethics, and legal descriptions. You can study online via RealEstateU, which allows you to tailor your study time based on your daily routine. The coursework will prepare for the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate State Exam, administered by Pearson VUE.
After you receive your Florida real estate sales associate license, you must work under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker.
Real Estate Broker License
Getting a real estate broker license opens you up to more opportunities in the real estate business. To qualify for this license, you must complete 24 months as an active real estate sales associate for five years.
Next, you must complete a 72-hour Florida-approved pre-licensing course. The state will also conduct background checks as part of the application process. Another state test, the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate State Exam, awaits after finishing the coursework.
Successful applicants must complete a 60-hour post-licensing realtor course in Florida within two years of getting licensed.
License Renewal and Extra Courses
Florida offers new courses for real estate brokers and sales associates to help them stay up-to-date with what’s happening in the industry. The course material contains materials related to industry best practices, ethics, and changes in real estate law.
Both brokers and sales associates must renew their licenses every two years. Real estate sales associates become real estate sales associate brokers after five years. To renew your license, you must finish the extra courses offered post-licensing and pay a renewal fee.
Realtors from out-of-state can earn a Florida real estate license via Florida’s mutual agreement plan with other states.
Getting your real estate sales associate or broker license will open you to more opportunities in Florida. Understanding the licensing requirements is vital for those looking to get a real estate license in Florida.
Ensure you take the upcoming lessons as the law requires and renew your license to stay current with the latest industry developments.